Friday, November 11, 2011
What are Texans like? (with all respect)?
It really does depend where you're moving to. We do say "y'all". you'll probably pick it up too. its just convenient. I'm from Houston, and we're mostly urban people who think and talk about driving and parking all day long. The whole city is very business driven. Truthfully, almost everyone is conservative, and the more rural you get, the more that's true. Austin is a different place altogether. They have bumper stickers that say "keep austin weird". Its the live music capitol of the nation I think, and has lots of hippies (the college students contribute). Its a fun place. UT is in Austin, and they are crazy about their school, but not as crazy as A&M. Which brings me to college station. Umm, Everyone is obsessed with the school. Its like a cult. Everyone all over the state picks a side, UT or A&M. I'm from Houston and I don't get it. Anyway, they are the most "Texas-y" people. San Antonio has a little more of the Mexican side of Texas, which is true of most of the south. The rural areas have more genuine cowboys with cows and horses and boots. So basically, you'll meet a mix of rednecks, preppy, white, black, hispanic (much more than up north), depending where you go. Southern Hospitality is real, and if you go into convenient stores or anywhere people will be very kind and inviting. Boys will hold doors open for girls and so on. (Less true in the bigger cities).
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment